The 69th National Film Awards: Waheeda Rehman, Alia Bhatt, and Allu Arjun Awarded

The 69th National Film Awards: Waheeda Rehman, Alia Bhatt, and Allu Arjun Awarded

The 69th edition of the National Film Awards unfolded in the nation’s capital this past Tuesday, marking a dazzling blend of generational talent and fashion flair. The ceremony, presided over by President Droupadi Murmu, recognized a range of celebrated actors including the iconic Waheeda Rehman and the contemporary star Alia Bhatt.

Waheeda Rehman was bestowed with the prestigious Dadasaheb Phalke Lifetime Achievement Award, acknowledging her decades-long service to Indian cinema. President Murmu lauded Rehman for her extraordinary contributions, emphasizing that she had risen to the summit of the industry through her skill and charisma.

The biopic ‘Sardar Udham’ (2021), chronicling historical events, received the award for Best Hindi Film. The honor was accepted by the film’s director, Shoojit Sircar. The lead role is portrayed by Vicky Kaushal. The film didn’t stop there; it also clinched awards in categories such as Best Cinematography (by Avik Mukhopadhayay), Best Production Design, Best Costume Designer, and Best Audiography.

Alia Bhatt took home the Best Actress award for her work in Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s ‘Gangubai Kathiawadi’. Adorned in her wedding saree, she was photographed by her spouse and fellow actor, Ranbir Kapoor. Kriti Sanon was another winner in the Best Actress category, recognized for her role in ‘Mimi’. Sanon appeared resplendent in a cream-colored saree with a gilded edge, opting for a minimalist makeup look and a stylish bun.

For the Best Actor category, Tollywood’s Allu Arjun won the accolade for his role in ‘Pushpa: The Rise’, while also sporting a traditional white attire. His film also snagged the award for Best Music Direction, attributed to Devi Sri Prasad.

The 69th National Film Awards Event

‘R. Madhavan’s inaugural directorial venture, ‘Rocketry: The Nambi Effect’, was declared the Best Feature Film. Meanwhile, S.S. Rajamouli’s blockbuster ‘RRR’ earned the title of ‘Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment’ and also won for Best Music Direction, credited to M.M. Keeravaani. The film additionally secured awards for Best Special Effects, Best Choreography, and Best Action Direction.

Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s ‘Gangubai Kathiawadi’ was also honored with Best Editing, while also winning for Best Screenplay and Best Make-up Artist.

In the music department, Shreya Ghoshal and Kaala Bhairava won Best Female and Male Playback Singer, respectively. Ghoshal was honored for the Tamil song ‘Maayava Chaayavaa’ from ‘Iravin Nizhal’, and Bhairava for the Telugu song ‘Komuram Bheemudo’ from ‘RRR’.

‘The Kashmir Files’, directed by Vivek Ranjan Agnihotri, received the Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration. Supporting roles in the film by Pallavi Joshi and in ‘Mimi’ by Pankaj Tripathi also received accolades.

The Best Child Artist award was conferred upon Bhavin Rabari for his role in the Gujarati movie ‘Chello Show’.

Finally, the Special Jury Award was granted to the film ‘Shershaah’, featuring Sidharth Malhotra, with director Vishnu Varadhan being recognized for his efforts.

Also watch: Gaanja Shankar: First Glimpse of Sai Dharam Tej’s ‘Gaanja Shankar’ Here

Leave a Comment