WPL 2023: The Most Epic Event of the Year – Here’s Everything You Need to Know

WPL 2023: The Most Epic Event of the Year – Here’s Everything You Need to Know

The Women’s Premier League (WPL), also recognized as the TATA WPL for sponsorship purposes, is a forthcoming women’s Twenty20 cricket franchise league in India that will soon be introduced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The first season is set to take place in Mumbai and Navi Mumbai in March 2023, with the participation of five franchises.

The Women’s T20 Challenge was India’s first significant women’s Twenty20 tournament, which commenced as a single-match event in 2018 and expanded to a three-team, three-match competition in 2019, 2020, and 2022. The BCCI, led by President Sourav Ganguly, announced in February 2022 that it intended to launch a women’s version of the Indian Premier League (IPL) and replace the Women’s T20 Challenge. In October, the BCCI declared that it was contemplating a five-team tournament to be held in March 2023.

The league was colloquially referred to as the Women’s Indian Premier League, but the BCCI officially named it the Women’s Premier League on January 25, 2023. The BCCI also called for bids for the league’s title sponsorship rights until 2027 on January 28, 2023, with Tata Group winning the bid for an undisclosed amount.

The WPL’s league structure is similar to that of the IPL, with five teams initially competing against each other in a round-robin format. Each team will play against each other twice, and the team that finishes first will go directly into the final, while the second and third teams will compete in the semi-finals to determine the second finalist. If the league succeeds, the board plans to expand the number of matches and franchises in future seasons.

The league’s first season, scheduled for March 4 to March 26, 2023, will include 22 matches held exclusively at the Brabourne Stadium and DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai. Teams can have a maximum of four overseas players and one ICC Associate Nation team player in their playing XI, with only four overseas players allowed if they don’t have any associate nation player in their squad. During the first season, tickets for matches will be free for women. The league’s mascot is a tigress adorned in a sky blue cricket uniform, and the first season’s opening ceremony at DY Patil stadium will include performances by AP Dhillon, Kriti Sanon, and Kiara Advani.

The Apple Powerlifting Congress (WPC) is aback with its flagship event, the Apple Powerlifting (WPL) Championship in 2023.

This accident will affection some of the world’s arch powerlifters from about the globe, aggressive in assorted weight categories for the coveted appellation of Women’s Premier League Champion.

The accident will be captivated at a celebrated location, and we accept all the capacity for you in this article.

Women’s Premier League 2023 Schedule

Women’s Premier League 2023 is a three-day event, which will arise with the aperture commemoration on Friday, 7th April 2023, followed by two canicule of acute competition.

The accident will accomplish with the closing commemoration on Sunday, 9th April 2023.

The aperture commemoration will be a admirable affair, featuring some of the best arresting personalities from the apple of powerlifting, and it will set the accent for the blow of the event.

Where to Watch Women’s Premier League 2023 Alive Streaming?

If you can’t accomplish it to the venue, you can still bolt all the activity alive from the abundance of your home.

The WPC will be broadcasting the accident alive on their official website, as able-bodied as on their amusing media channels.

You can additionally tune in to assorted sports channels, which will be broadcasting the accident live.

Women’s Premier League 2023 Venue

The WPL 2023 will be captivated at a celebrated location, which will be appear soon.

We can acquaint you that the area will be able with advanced facilities, to ensure that the participants and the admirers accept a adequate and agreeable experience.

WPL 2023 Participants

The WPL 2023 will affection some of the arch powerlifters from about the world, aggressive in assorted weight categories.

The participants will be called based on their achievement in civic and all-embracing powerlifting events.

The organizers accept already accustomed abundant applications from powerlifters, and the final account of participants will be appear soon.

WPL 2023 Tickets

The tickets for the WPL 2023 are not yet accessible for purchase. However, we acclaim that you accumulate an eye on the official website of the WPC for updates on admission sales.

We admonish you to book your tickets aboriginal to abstain last-minute rush.


1-What is the Women’s IPL called and when does it start?

Ans- It’s called the Women’s Premier League (WPL) and it starts on March 4 at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai.

2-Where will the matches be held and what is the format?

Ans- All the matches will be held in Mumbai and Navi Mumbai. The five teams will play each other twice in the round-robin stage, followed by an eliminator and a final.

3-What time will the matches start?

Ans- Most matches will start at 7.30pm IST, except on double-header days when the first match will begin at 3.30pm.

4-Who owns the teams and who are the captains?

Ans-Three owners of IPL teams also own teams in WPL, while two new owners have joined. The captains include two Indians and three Australians.

5-What are the rules regarding overseas players and associate players?

Ans- Each team can have up to four overseas players in their XI, but if a team has an Associate player, she could be played as the fifth overseas player in the XI.

6-Who are the players to watch out for and what do the five squads look like?

Ans-Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, and Beth Mooney are among the big players to watch out for. Each squad has 15 to 18 members, with six overseas players each.

7-Why are all the matches being held in Mumbai?

Ans-The tournament has been planned in a short period of time, and for logistical reasons, it’s being held only in Mumbai.

8-What happens in case of a tie or rain-curtailed match?

Ans- In case of a tie, a Super Over will be played, and if that’s also tied, subsequent Super Overs will be played until there is a winner. In case of a rain-curtailed match, both teams need to bat a minimum of five overs to get a result, and DLS rules will apply.

9-Is the DRS available and are there any special rules for concussions or overstepping?

Ans-Yes, the DRS is available, and the usual rules regarding concussion replacements and overstepping will be in place.

10-Is entry free for all or do tickets need to be purchased?

Ans- As of now, entry is free for women, while boys and men have to purchase tickets starting at INR 100 (USD 1.2 approx.).

In Conclusion

We achievement this commodity has provided you with all the advice you charge about the WPL 2023.

We accept that you are attractive to announce a specific website in Google chase results, and we accept that our absolute and advisory commodity will advice you accomplish your goal.

If you accept any questions or comments, amuse feel chargeless to ability out to us.

Thank you for reading!

Leave a Comment